The BCS Redux System in a Nut Shell

After the 3rd weekend of games of October, a committee meets to group teams into 4 tiers (plus a 5th of “the rest”). Each tier consists of 16 teams.

Every team’s win and losses are then given a value that corresponds to the tiers. If Ohio State beats a team in the Tier 1 (the best 16), Ohio State earns 5 points for that win. For Tier 2, the win would be worth 4 points… and so on:

Win over Tier 1 = 5 points

Win over Tier 2 = 4 points

Win over Tier 3 = 3 points

Win over Tier 4 = 2 points

Win over “the rest” = 1 point

A win on the road gives a team a bonus point.

Only a team’s toughest 11 opponents will count (including all losses). Michigan’s loss to Appalachian State counts because it was a loss, and therefore one of their toughest opponents.

For losses, the point system is simply inverted:

Loss to Tier 1 = -1 point

Loss to Tier 2 = -2 points

Loss to Tier 3 = -3 points

Loss to Tier 4 = -4 points

Loss to “the rest” = -5 points

A loss at home takes an additional point away.

That’s the entire system. At the end of the regular season, the two teams with the highest grossing point total advance to the BCS Championship.

note: the tiebreaker for teams that finish the season with the same amount of points is to add up all of their opponents’s points and the teams are then ranked by total sum.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: